Thursday, May 9, 2013

BERITA BAIK: More faderal cabinet posts expected for Sabah, Sarawak

KOTA KINABALU: The component parties of Barisan Nasional in Sabah and Sarawak are expected to be rewarded with more federal cabinet posts for helping the national coalition to retain Putrajaya in the 13th General Election.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, who has to fill 11 vacancies in the new Cabinet, may consider rewarding Sabah and Sarawak component parties as well as Umno for their continued strong performance in the polls.

Six members did not contest in the general election, one has been re-assigned to a state seat while four others were defeated in the polls.

Najib will also need to ensure that his Cabinet line-up reflects, to a certain degree, the outcome of the general election.

Umno, which previously won 79 seats now holds 88 seats while Sarawak’s Parti Pesaka Bumiputra Bersatu maintained its 100% record by winning all 14 of its parliamentary seats.

Sabah BN won 42 of the 60 state seats and of 26 parliamentary seats while Sarawak BN took 25 of the 31 state seats. There was no election for the parliamentary seats in Sarawak.

The MIC is expected to retain its two Cabinet seats as its president Datuk Seri G. Palanivel and his deputy Datuk Seri Dr S. Subramaniam won in the polls.

Several Barisan MPs are of the opinion that Najib’s new Cabinet line-up should comprise new faces and those who have ‘less baggage’.

“Don’t worry about them not having the experience. Barisan MPs are smart and they can learn fast,” said an MP, adding that ministers must quickly articulate issues pertaining to ministries onto various media platform like websites and Twitter.

Another MP said it would be ideal to see bigger representation from Sabah and Sarawak.

“There were seven ministers from Sabah and Sarawak in the previous Cabinet. We hope to see a bigger number,” he said.

Those who did not contest in the general election were Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim, Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop, Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil, Datuk Seri Dr Ng Yen Yen, Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon and Datuk Seri Peter Chin Fah Kui.

Datuk Seri Khaled Nordin, who was the Higher Education Minister, contested in the Permas state seat in Johor while Datuk Raja Nong Chik Raja Zainal Abidin, Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha, Tan Sri Bernard Dompok and Datuk Seri Chor Chee Heung were defeated in the polls.

The MCA has decided not to accept any positions.

Najib will have to make a decision whether to respect the party’s stand or persuade them to join the Cabinet with several Barisan leaders urging the party to reconsider its position.


  1. mmg patut perbanyakkan rakyat Sabah dalan kabinet persekutuan


Important - The views expressed and the links provided on our comment pages are the personal views of individual contributors and do not necessarily reflect the views of Borneo Bullet.